3OH!3 ft. Ke$ha: ‘My First Kiss’

Leave a comment

June 22, 2010 by popseeker


I’m going to save my final judgement on this song for a while yet because it keeps changing. I intended to write a scathing attack on this pathetically awful song yesterday, when, after listening to it one more time to criticise everything about it I realised that in actual fact I was addicted to it’s catchy, playground chant-like tune and was promptly singing along.

I don’t think I’ve seen a better analysis of 3OH!3 and Ke$ha’s collaboration than from About.com which noted:

“[they are] probably the most gifted artists of the moment at riding a line between performing irresistibly catchy music and releasing tremendously annoying songs”

I should stress I’m neither a 3OH!3 or Ke$ha hater – far from it; Ke$ha’s ‘Animal’ is one of my favourite albums of the year so far and truth be told, I’ve fallen in love with her a bit. Likewise, I’ve been a fan of 3OH!3 since I heard the original mix of ‘Starstrukk’ on an episode of the Hills two years ago.

‘My First Kiss’ is certainly no ‘Starstrukk’, but it is, as I said, a ridiculous catchy tune and another rather quirky contribution to the electropop scene from 3OH!3. It’s the first single off of their second upcoming album ‘Streets of Gold’ and is released in the UK on July 5th.

Leave a Reply

Song of the Moment

Contact

Get in touch! Send us your new music or your favourite pop tunes. If you have a demo or promotional CD you'd like us to listen to and maybe even feature, please tweet @popseeker or use the comment box on the contact page.

Archives

